Dr. Alok Misra

CEO & Director - MFIN

Dr. Alok Misra has 30 years of professional experience in international development, rural finance, microfinance, inclusive finance and research at both policy and implementation level. He started his career with India's apex rural development bank (NABARD) in 1992 wherein his work spanned financial sector supervision, institutional development, microfinance, agricultural/rural finance and rural livelihoods/MSME finance. He was also a part of the multi-institutional task force (2003-2004) responsible for setting up India's first online demutualized commodities exchange (NCDEX).

In 2008, he shifted to a global microfinance rating, policy analysis and technical advisory agency. Before coming to MFIN as CEO & Director, Dr. Misra was Professor and Chairperson, School of Public Policy & Governance at Management Development Institute (MDI), Gurgaon. He has served as a board member of MFIN, Vaya Finserv and member of NABARD's strategic group on microfinance.

He is a member of Inclusive Finance India Group of Advisors, member of Digital finance working group constituted by ITU, Geneva. Dr. Misra is closely associated with international initiatives like SPTF and Smart Campaign and has worked across 24 countries in Asia, Africa, Europe and Pacific. He has written numerous articles and reports and authored "Inclusive Finance India report" for two years.

Dr. Alok Misra holds a PhD in Development Studies from Victoria University of Wellington, Master in Development Management (Gold Medallist) from Asian Institute of Management, Manila. He was awarded ADB-Government of Japan scholarship for MDM programme and NZAID scholarship for his PhD. He has been trained at Harvard Business School in "Strategic leadership for Microfinance" and was a Fellow, Fletcher Leadership Program for Financial Inclusion at Tufts University.

The Enforcement Committee (EC) primarily handles issues of non-compliances and grievances arising from customers requiring redressal. EC members are as under :

Name Particulars
Mr. Arnab Roy (Chair) Independent Member, Former Principal CGM and Regional Director - Reserve Bank of India
Ms. Veena Mankar Independent Member, Founder and Chairperson - Swadhaar FinAccess
Mr. Nitya Kishore Sahu Independent Member, Former CGM - Reserve Bank of India
Mr. Jugal Kataria Industry Member, Group Controller – Satin Creditcare Network Ltd.
Mr. Tarun Mehndiratta Industry Member, COO – Fusion Micro Finance Ltd.
Dr Vinay Singh Non-voting ex-officio Member, Head - Self-regulation & Compliance Officer - MFIN
Sheetal Prasad Member Secretary

The SROC provides oversight and direction to all the SRO functions and acts as the appellate body for EC decisions.SROC members are as under:

Name Representative Organization
Mr Sudarshan Sen (Chair) Independent Member, Former Executive Director - Reserve Bank of India
Dr Kshama Fernandes Independent Member, Non-Executive Vice Chairperson - Northern Arc Group
Mr Devesh Sachdev Industry Member, MD & CEO - Fusion Micro Finance Pvt. Ltd
Mr Dibyajyoti Pattanaik Industry Member, Director - Annapurna Finance Pvt. Ltd.
Dr Alok Misra CEO & Director, MFIN
Dr Vinay Singh Member Secretary
  • Mr. Devesh Sachdev

    MD & CEO, Fusion Micro Finance Ltd.

  • Mr. Vivek Tiwari

    MD & CEO, Satya MicroCapital Ltd.

  • Mr. Dibyajyoti Pattanaik

    Annapurna Finance Pvt. Ltd.

  • Mr. Udaya Kumar Hebbar

    MD & CEO,
    CreditAccess Grameen Ltd.

  • Mr. Amardeep Singh Samra

    MD and CEO,
    Midland Microfin Ltd

  • Mr Abhisheka Kumar

    Co- Founder & MD
    Sindhuja Microcredit Pvt. Ltd.

  • Mr. Ankush Golechha

    Promoter & Director
    Aviral Finance Pvt Ltd.

  • Mr George K John

    Executive Director
    ESAF Small Finance Bank

  • Dr. Harsh Kumar Bhanwala

    Former Chairman, NABARD

  • Mr. Sudarshan Sen

    Former Executive Director at Reserve Bank of India

  • Dr Kshama Fernandes

    Non-Executive Vice Chairperson - Northern Arc Group

MFIN has three Board Committees.

  • Nominations & Renumeration Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Associates Committee

The Task Force on Advocacy & PR is responsible for steering and guiding the advocacy agenda within MFIN. It supports the Secretariat in drafting policy notes to various stakeholders including RBI, MoF and other Central & State Governments. The Task Force engages with key policy makers and sector participants to create a conducive policy and business environment for the industry. The composition of the Task Force is as under

Name Representative Organization
Mr Devesh Sachdev (Chair) MD & CEO - Fusion Microfinance Pvt. Ltd.
Mr Dibyajyoti Pattanaik Director - Annapurna Finance Pvt. Ltd.
Mr Udaya Kumar MD & CEO - CreditAccess Grameen Ltd.
Mr Manoj Nambiar MD - Arohan Financial Services Ltd.
Dr Alok Misra Member Secretary

The Task Force on Credit Bureau is responsible for strengthening the credit bureau ecosystem for the microfinance clients in the country. The composition of the Task Force is as under:

Name Representative Organization
Mr Vivek Tiwari (Chair) MD & CEO - Satya MicroCapital Ltd.
Mr George K John Executive Director - ESAF Small Finance Bank
Mr Ranjan Das Chief Risk Officer - Arohan Financial Services Ltd.
Mr Gururaj K S Rao Chief Audit Officer - CreditAccess Grameen Ltd.
Mr Tapobrat Chaudhuri President & Business Head (Microfinance) - Kotak Mahindra Bank
Mr Sadaf Sayeed CEO - Muthoot Microfin Ltd.
Mr Sateesh Kumar AV MD & CEO - Vaya Finserv Pvt Ltd
Dr Vinay Singh Member Secretary

For any Help/Enquiry: